top of page

An Ode to Friendship.



Friends are the family we choose... or something to that effect. This I know. Those who know me, who I have been riding with for years, some for decades, know what place friendship holds in my life, in my heart, in my soul. While writing these lines, I cannot help but smile, thinking about those little jewels life has brought to me, so many of them that I honestly cannot count. I cannot also help but feel a pinch in my heart. More than that actually, when my memory brings back the sadness I have been through, especially these past couple of years. What will this post be about at the moment I am laying down these words? I cannot exactly tell. A story. Or many stories surrounding my friendship(s). Or a therapy. A way for me to exorcise the hurt and the pain. Or an ode to love, joy and bliss, I have experienced and continue to do so, because once again, I have been blessed to meet some wonderful people that I call friends.


@credit photo- Pinterest






Friends are the family we choose... Or something to that effect. Indeed, we come to this world, being part of this blood related gang we call family. At the exact moment when we open our eyes, when our heart beats and we cry for the first time, I am convinced that we feel an unexpected and unexplainable love, for that sacred human being who gave us the opportunity to breathe the air we breathe. We grow up, and love unconditionally that person as well as the one who participated in our conception. When we are lucky enough, we find out that our love is extended to those other beings called siblings, existing to annoy us for years (dare I say a lifetime), but that we can hardly live without. This is the family we do not choose.


A friend, friends, on the other side, are those people you meet along the way, on a playground as a kid, in school, during university and sometimes later in life by unexpected circumstances. A friend is that special someone, who gets you, who laughs and cry with you, supports you, cheers for you, defends you, fights for you even when you are not aware s/he does. A friend is that beautiful soul that connects with yours and you cannot explain when and how it happened. It's the one you cannot wait to go back to school to see, as soon as you get home. It's the one you sit with in class and do mischief with. It's the one hang out with during those teenage years, those crucial years where you both try to figure out what is happening to you, your bodies and emotions. It's the one you have fun with, go to "cool school" parties with and who covers for you when your parents ask where you were (oh, he was at home with me Mister X...lol). It's the one you make plans with, talking about a future that will probably never happen. It's the one you run to when you are angry in order to spit that anger out of your system. It's the one you go to when you are sad because you can cry without caring being judged by him or her. It's the one you have your best laughs with. You know, those laughs when you both choke, with no sound, with only tears rolling down your eyes because you both got the funny joke, the private joke. A friend is the one who supports you, opens the doors for you, reassures you when you are in doubt, lifts you up when you are down, shows you the way when you are in the dark and do not know where to go. A friend is the one who does not judge. Ever. It's the one who will give you an honest opinion, based on what he or she knows about you, about your weaknesses and strengths, about your past, your present and what you hope or should hope for yourself because at the end, he or she cares about you, deeply, tenderly and only wants to see you happy. And whatever choice you will end up making, he or she will support you and hold you if you fall, help you straightening your chin and head up when you rise. A friend is all that and so much more.


I have been blessed to have friends in this life. If I died today, I could say that I have met some of the most wonderful people on earth. This dear friend of mine, who called me one day of 2013 in Paris, because she knew I was down. I had been looking tirelessly for a job for the whole of 2012. I had reached a breaking point after so many failed attempts, two that crushed every ounce of my confidence. She did not just cheered me up. She saved me and put me back on track with a single call. Because she loved me enough to care and wished the best for me. I ended up getting an opportunity that led to my first job. Thanks to her. This friend who last year, knowing what I was going through personally, financially, came out of nowhere and handed me an amount of money that made a significant difference at the moment and helped my family and I during a period of tribulation. Thanks to him. This other friend, who came into my life not so long ago but who I cherish deeply (a brilliant mind I must say), who helped me earlier this year in seizing a life changing opportunity and guided me through every step of the way in order for me to make this choice concrete. This one who is always present when I need him and who last year was the first one to act and react when my family was going through what could have been a tragedy at that time. This one, I don't know how to greet him anymore other than by insults (they come form a place of love (he knows, I know). And this friend, oh, this dear friend, who not once, but twice, saved one of my family member's life (literally) by extending one of the most intimate pieces of her. Can you imagine? I do not think you can. This is the extent to which her love goes and I am not even sure how I can repay her. Those friends, all of those friends, and God knows there are so many of them, who came together for my 31st birthday to offer me a present. This gift has to be one of the most valuable I have ever received. It came from people all around the world. I could not help but cry that day, not because of the monetary value of the gift, but because they cared enough to put together that surprise. Oh, how I love my friends. All of them. Those who love me unconditionally. Such as this group of, talented, smart, strong and beautiful ladies who have been with me unconditionally for almost 15 years now. I love them dearly. Those other childhood friends, that I have known for more than two decades now, who have grown into impressive ladies and gentlemen, who I have fond memories with from the time we were in school and elsewhere... I love you deeply.


I guess this post is finally just about how much I care and how grateful I am for my friends. I wanted them to know, in case they had any doubt. I know I have omitted a lot of people. I know. Please, do not feel sad or angry about it. It is impossible to describe and go through decades of friendship in a six minutes article on a blog. Just know that I do not love you less. Ever. To all those who will come into my life, I cherish you already. Deeply.


"Si c'est un ami,

S'il est pour toi Ce que tu es pour lui

Celui qui peut t'aimer Sans jamais te juger Celui qui reste quand les autres t'ont déjà quitté

Je dis que si c'est un ami Alors tu as bien réussi ta vie Tu as déjà trouvé l'étoile du berger Et tu n'es plus seul sur la route"


Hymne à l'amitié, Céline Dion


Ced



185 vues1 commentaire

Posts récents

Voir tout
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page